Better a Witty Fool than a Foolish Wit

Inner Workings of My Twisted Mind.

Beth and Diablo Sitting in a Tree

So Diablo Cody just left Booksoup, and I have to admit, I’m a little shaky.   There’s nothing quite like meeting the people you respect and admire.  I guess it comes from having an ultra-feminist mother.  I have all these females that I look up to.  Next one on my list it Beth Lisick.  I’m totally freaking out about her.  She’s a Sunnydale native who went to UCSC and lives in Berkeley, but has lived in the city too.

For those of you who are unaware, I miss San Francisco like crazy.  I love Los Angeles and it is totally my home (in fact, when I went to Santa Cruz for Christmas this year it was the first time it really didn’t feel like home), but I have a major piece of my heart set firmly somewhere in City Lights Bookstore and Vesuvio Bar.  Yeah, that chunk of my heart is some sort of Neal Cassady, Jack Kerouac, drunken slob who splits it’s time between the coolest bar in the city and the coolest bookstore in the city.  It pretty much sticks to north beach, though sometimes it strays to fisherman’s wharf or Golden Gate Park or Clement St.  I know that someday I’ll move to San Francisco and become one of those pretentious writers who never leaves the city and spends every minute reading McSweeneys and talking about how much cooler the city used to be back in some unknown time when walking at sixth and mission was something you couldn’t even do during the day.

So I’ve been doing what any normal girl would do to cure that ache that inevitably comes from leaving one’s heart in San Francisco.  I read stories that take place there.  Now, I have seen Beth Lisick’s book ‘Everybody into the Pool’ in multiple bookstores and it’s always intrigued me.  The Golden Gate Bridge features prominently on the cover and thus it has piqued my interest multiple times.  But, I don’t want to be that girl who reads a book just because she likes the cover, though that’s usually what attracts me to books in the first place…oh well, I guess I am that girl.  Anyway, about two weeks ago I found out that Beth Lisick was going to be coming into Booksoup so I thought, what a great excuse to read that book I’ve been eyeing for months now.

And now it’s happened, I have yet another female writer who I’m totally freaking out about.  That’s right Beth has joined the ranks of Diablo in becoming a writer I really admire.  Forget the fact that she’s a Banana Slug, which automatically makes her awesome, but she’s a total San Francisco lady and I freaking love it.  She’s everything you could want from a Bay Area writer.  She sometimes works as a Banana passing out fruit on Embarcadero for her friends ‘The Fruit Guys.’   She has no money (something that makes me feel a little panicky as someone who wants to make a living writing), she has a house that’s messy and falling apart, and she’s pretty darn happy.  Basically, she’s me in 15 years.  And perhaps it’s my narcissistic tendencies that make me love her because I relate to her so well, but the thing is that I do relate.  It’s the first time since the Golden Girls that I’ve really related to a woman who is significantly older than me (Beth’s almost 40, not that that’s old, just significantly older than I am).  Basically, it’s the first time I’ve really really related to a character/figure that is not a 16 year old girl, which is actually kind of scary now that I stop and think about it.

Anyway, this random bit of drabble is all leading up to the fact that this week I got to meet Diablo Cody and I will be able to meet Beth Lisick on Thursday when she comes in.  It’s women like this that make it plausible that a woman like me can become a writer.  So thanks ladies for giving a little girl some hope.

Peace, Love, and Lady Writers,
Julia

January 13, 2008 - Posted by | Literature, San Francisco

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

