Better a Witty Fool than a Foolish Wit

Inner Workings of My Twisted Mind.

Change and the Art of the Seventies

So a little while ago I wrote about how great it was to grow up in the’90s, and I still hold that belief, but last night I worked a bookrelease of a book called Comedy at the Edge about how comedy (as wellas other things) completely changed America in the 1970s.  I’m ayoung’n so I sometimes forget how big of a changing decade theseventies was.  I mean, the sixties had free speech and vietnamprotests, and women’s rights and all that stuff, but in the seventiesit went from being radical movements to being practiced in life, andComedy was a facet of this.  Think about it, you had people like SteveMartin, Albert Brooks, George Carlin, Jerry Seinfeld, etc. etc. etc.all talking about the social injustices, sexual politics, politicalclimate of the time and they ended up going on t.v. shows likeSaturday Night Live (remember when it was funny?)I’ve been kind of thinking about the seventies a lot.  And I actuallyhave a big question to pose, seeing as many of you lived through theseventies.  Does right now feel at all the same?  I feel like America,and the world, is in a huge period of change and I sometimes getcaught up in that, so much so that it’s hard to breathe.  I guess I’mjust wondering if the change that you all went through in theseventies feels at all the same as the change we’re going through now? Did it feel then, like it does now?   Did it feel like you might bethe last generation to see the world as it is?  Did it feel like anysort of safety net had been completely ripped out from under you?  Ordoes it feel exactly the same, and am I having a quarterlife crisis?So this is my first just flat out question.  If anyone has an answeror a theory, let me know.  I love hearing your thoughts and I’ll beback to writing my normal critiques on the craziness of modernAmerican society in a few days.Peace, Love and Change,Julia

March 6, 2008 - Posted by | Comedy, Culture, Environment

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

