Better a Witty Fool than a Foolish Wit

Inner Workings of My Twisted Mind.

About that Time

It’s about that time again folks, it seems to come earlier every year.  No.  It’s not Christmas yet.  It’s summer movie season!  A great time of year when big blockbuster hits, speckled with some little gems hit the theaters just in time for us to cool off in the nice air conditioning of a huge cineplex.  And it’s all kicking off this weekend folks.  So here are my predictions (a little insider info as well).  

May 2
Iron Man this weekend.  I’ve heard only good things about the latest in the superhero movies.  I’ll be at the Paramount Theater on Saturday Night with this one.  
Made of Honor also comes out today.  And as much as I love Dr. McDreamy, it’s a little too My Best Friends Wedding.  I think this one is a renter.  
May 9
Speed Racer.  I’m not quite sure why they felt that this needed to be a movie.  It was a cheesy japanese cartoon show and really didn’t need to be a film.  That being said the cast is fantastic and it might be a must see.  We’ll wait until the review come out before the real opinion comes out.
What happens in Vegas.  Cameron Diaz and Ashton Kutcher, not my favorite duo, though this could be a nice sweet surprise.  It could be the cute romantic comedy summer hit.  Of course, it could be a fucking disaster too.  I’m kind of drawn to it in a weird way.  
May 22
The biggest movie of the summer according to me will be Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.  I was lucky enough to see some of the sets, which look amazing.  I think this is going to be great, and it’s got my pedophile crush Shia LeBouef as well as my sexy geriatric Harrison Ford.  Can’t go wrong.  Not to mention they are bringing back Indy’s love interest from Raiders (she was the best one).  Can’t wait to see this, it might have to be a midnight viewing.
May 30
So I was skeptical about this, and still am a little iffy, but I’ll be there (most likely on opening night), yes ladies, it’s our girls on the big screen.  The Sex and the City Movie comes out on the 30th.  From the looks of the trailer it’s everything we want and more, just one thing….the ending of the show was so perfect, this movie is going to have to be perfect just to not piss all of us off.  I’ll be there opening night.
May
Also out in May, the movie I’m really looking forward to is Son of Rambow.  A British film about kids who make an action movie.  It looks fantastic and has received nothing but good reviews.
June 13
The Incredible Hulk.  The first Hulk movie was a complete and total disaster and I kind of think this might be too.  Edward Norton is great casting for Bruce Banner, but dare I say it, the Hulk just might work better in comic book form.  It’s a hard concept to sell, man gets pissed and grows in to big green monster guy.  It’s hard to be a real movie.  
June 20
Get Smart.  I have a feeling this one is going to be great.  Perfect casting.  Steve Carrell as Maxwell Smart and Anne Hathaway as Agent 99.  I’m really excited.  
Also out on the 20th Brick Lane.  It was a book by Monica Ali.  When I lived in London everyone was reading it on the tube (which is always a good sign because Brits read good books) and the movie looks great.  
The Love Guru.  Mike Meyers needs to stick to Austin Powers, this movie is sure to be a disaster.  It looks unbearable.  
June 27 
Wanted.  So excited about this.  It’s based on a Graphic Novel and has Angelina Jolie and James McAvoy (who I want to do naughty things to).  Sort of Fight Club like, cubicle workers take over the world kind of thing.  Can’t Wait.  
June
I should also mention Kung-Fu Panda which will probably be a big animated hit, but looks like total crap.  Sorry folks, but what’s the story there?
July 2
Hancock.  I’m the only person on earth who can’t stand Will Smith so I am a completely biased judge.  That being said, it’s an interesting premise.  First black superhero.  Maybe worth it for the novelty factor, though I have yet to discover what his superpowers are.  It doesn’t just work if the novelty is black superhero, it has to be cool/good superhero.
July 11
Hellboy 2.  There’s a bit of a trend this summer.  Hellboy is another comic book movie, it’s a great premise about a guy who is destined for evil but tries to do good.  The first one was great and I’m hoping the second one lives up.  I think it will.  
July 18
The Dark Night.  I will see this at the midnight before screening (haven’t been to one of those since Sin City came out).  It looks absolutely amazing.  The late and amazing Heath Ledger is going to be unstoppable and even though I had issues with Batman Begins, I feel in safe hands.  This one is going to be huge and it’s going to be great.
July 18th will be a huge movie day for me because MAMMA MIA! is coming to the big screen.  So my brits know what this means, as I saw this show a whopping 8 times when I lived in London and I’ve seen it in total 9 times (once in the U.S.)  The casting is impeccable and it will be wonderful.  If you haven’t seen the show, go to the movie, then fly to Vegas or New York or London and see the show (and take me with you).
July 25
X-Files Movie.  Need I say more.  I’m betting it was worth the wait.
August 8
Pineapple Express.  From the Judd Apatow crew (Knocked Up, Superbad, Forty Year Old Virgin).  This will be a hit and it certainly looks like they’ve hit that magic again.  
Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2.  The inner 13 year old in me loved the first one (it has a place on my overflowing DVD rack) and I’m stoked for the second one.  This is going to be big because all these girls went out and got freaking famous between films.  Before Alexis Bledel (Gilmore Girls) was the real Box Office Draw, but now you’ve got America Ferrera (Ugly Betty) and Blake Lively (Gossip Girl).  It’ll be good, and I’ll be in a theater full of 12 year olds.  
August 15
Tropic Thunder.  A friend of mine worked on this and said it’s really funny.  I think it’s going to be a surprise hit, but don’t hold me to that…you never know what can happen once you get to editing a film.
Alright those are my predictions.  We’ll see and have a happy summer movie viewing season.
Peace, Love, and Summer Blockbusters
Julia
May 1, 2008 - Posted by | Movie Reviews, Movies

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

