Better a Witty Fool than a Foolish Wit

Inner Workings of My Twisted Mind.

Girlfriends

So my email the other day about sisterhoods in packs of four kind of got me thinking about girlfriends.  The three other girlfriends in my sisterhood are spread throughout the west coast and sometimes it feels like a piece of myself is missing when I don’t get to experience things with them.

I was watching the news the other day and there was a story about how a group of scientists had done a study on women and their social habits and they had found that one of the main reasons women live longer than men is their relationships with other women.  I’m not a scientist so I can’t really explain it but the report said that there was/is something about that social relationship that contributed positively to women’s health.  Women who didn’t have close girlfriends lived about as long as men did.

Whereas my email before was more of a look at specific numberings of groups of women (and not altogether serious), this is something that I find to be really interesting.  As much as I love my girlfriends sometimes they drive me crazy, and I’m certain I do the same to them.  I mean, there have been times when I was simultaneously holding their hair back as they vomited boxes of wine into our previously clean bathroom, and wanting to absolutely kill them for putting me in a position where I was now covered in bile.  There have been times when I want nothing more than to just go see a movie with the three of them but can’t because we live 1000 miles away from each other.  And there are times when I’m completely in my own life, not a thought about them, but somehow, as ridiculous as this sounds, they’re still with me.  They made me who I am and I can’t be anyone else around them because they know me completely.

Maybe that’s the part that really lends itself to healthier lifestyles, when you have a group of people who won’t allow you to be anyone but yourself, you can’t put up defenses or put on tough girl acts.  Embarrassingly enough, after watching Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2, I came to the realization that we’re all out there kind of putting on a tough front (specifically when you have to be in the dating pool).  I know my friends and I are constantly pretending like certain boys and certain things don’t have any sort of hold over us when they do.  Sure, we might be able to brush certain things off, but sometimes it hurts, and sometimes we pretend it doesn’t.  The thing is though, when I’m with my girlfriends, they always know.  They know when it really hurts and when it doesn’t.  They know when I need to lie to myself and when I need to be slapped in the face with the truth.

The girlfriend dynamic is an interesting one.  As Tibby says in the original Traveling Pants movie (I’m paraphrasing), we can fight because we know that we’ll always love each other.  That’s really what matters to me.  Who cares that we refuse to grow up (we are talking about the girls who sneak booze into the movie theater, take pictures with our asses showing in Las Vegas and who all would rather travel around and visit each other than start working on a career)?  We will always, in some ways, be eighteen years old around each other, and in other ways, we’ll always be the older one taking care of the others when we need it.  And that’s the beauty of female friendship.

Peace, Love, and People Who Know You Better Than You Know Yourself,
Julia

August 8, 2008 - Posted by | Culture, Movies

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

