Better a Witty Fool than a Foolish Wit

Inner Workings of My Twisted Mind.

On Your Marks

The Oscar’s aren’t until February but here in Los Angeles, as we’re hit by a cold front, one that is actually kind of cold and not just cold for L.A., Oscar season has begun. Golden Globe Nominations went out earlier this week, the Academy screeners are going out. It’s an exciting time. Here are some of the movies I’m looking forward to. It’s too early to call the races yet, but it does look like it’s shaping up to be a good year, awardwise.

I watched The Wrestler with Mickey Rourke today, as one of my friends is in the Academy and thus has access to screeners. It was great. Mickey Rourke was amazing, deep and sad and just gave a fantastic performance, as did Evan Rachel Wood as his daughter.

I’m super excited about Milk, which I haven’t seen yet. Though I will probably have a breakdown while watching it, seeing as we’re kind of still in the thick of all this homophobia bullshit that’s gone on this year. I have heard that Sean Penn is absolutely amazing.

Doubt with Meryl Streep and Amy Adams has gotten some mixed reviews but I think you can’t go wrong with these two ladies. And their Golden Globe nominations say to me that they perform as well as usual. Plus, Meryl Streep as a nun…almost to scary to be just a regular old drama.

Revolutionary Road is probably the movie I’m most excited about (and I get to see a screening tomorrow night so I’ll give a review after I see it). Being a child of the Titanic generation, I have to say, I’m thrilled to see Leo and Kate back in a movie together again. These two have insane onscreen chemistry and I’m excited to see them in a love that is dissolving rather than one that is epic (and maybe a little cheesy…cut to sweaty palm on a steamed up window). The fact that they’ve both been nominated for Golden Globes is a good sign. Also, a selling point is that Sam Mendes directed this one. He also directed American Beauty, one of my all time favorite movies.

Kate Winslet’s other movie The Reader is also one I’m looking forward to. I don’t know much about it but Kate is nominated and I’m hearing good things.

Rachel Getting Married, Anne Hathaway’s first really serious leading role, is causing quite a stir. I always am interested to see drug addicts portrayed because when it’s done well it’s powerful stuff. Of course, when it’s not done well, it is painful. I’ve heard she’s great, so we’ll see.

And lastly, Slumdog Millionaire is the sort of sleeper hit this year, gaining much notice after the attacks in Mumbai. I hear nothing but great things about this movie. I can’t wait to see it.

So those are my picks for now. Happy Award Season and let the fun begin.

Peace, Love, and Great Movies,
Julia

December 16, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

