Better a Witty Fool than a Foolish Wit

Inner Workings of My Twisted Mind.

Bravo!

You know it, you love it, it’s my post-Oscar wrap up email. So Sunday night was Hollywood’s big night (and the first time since moving to L.A. that I haven’t had to sit in a sea of limos on my way home to watch the Oscars), and I have to say, it might have been the best Oscar ceremony in a very very long time. It was quick (for the Oscars), no one got played off the stage for having a too long speech, there weren’t any huge political displays (though there were a few smaller ones that I fucking loved), and the host was entertaining.

So here goes…Hugh Jackman: good, solid Oscar host. The numbers were entertaining (except for the one with Beyonce, but that’s not Hugh’s fault, I just can’t stand Beyonce), he made some awesome jokes. I especially liked when he mentioned Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie and then said he didn’t have a joke for them, he just was contractually obligated to mention them.

I have to brag just a little bit that I called pretty much every single category. Of course the writing categories went to some deserving folks, Simon Beaufoy for Slumdog and Dustin Lance Black for Milk (who made the best damn speech of the night, and one that brought more than just one tear to my eye). I loved Dustin saying that as a little gay boy growing up in the Bay Area (read Salinas…he told me when I met him a few weeks ago), that Harvey Milk was his idol, and the obvious relations to prop 8 were brought out. Loved it.

Kate Winslet’s Oscar was much deserved and about damn time. Heath Ledger’s Oscar was touching, if not predictable. The one shock for me was Penelope Cruz, but then I had no ideas on that category so I guess she was as predictable as any other.

Sean Penn was the only category that I was really really thrilled with. I mean, I loved Mickey Rourke in The Wrestler (and I’m apparently the only woman on earth, besides my mother, who finds him ridiculously sexy), but it wasn’t an Oscar winning performance. Plus, with all the political prop 8 stuff, Sean Penn needed to win, and he did, and he made a fantastic speech that was not only political, but also self-deprecating. Sean Penn admitted that he’s kind of a nightmare to work with (which is well known within Hollywood) and I sort of love him for admitting it.

Now, Slumdog took picture and director which is great. Fox Searchlight finally won a Best Picture Oscar which they really needed to add to their roster of awesomeness.

All in all, it was a banner year for Oscar ceremonies, even if the Oscar movies were a little bit of a slim-picking situation.

Peace, Love and Little Gold Statues,
Julia

February 25, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Unlimited 24/7 Movie Downloads!!! No time limits, no bandwidth limits, no content limits!!!

    Comment by John | March 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

