Better a Witty Fool than a Foolish Wit

Inner Workings of My Twisted Mind.

Pet Peeve

With the release of Watchmen one of my biggest all time pet peeves has been hit upon again and again.

I absolutely cannot stand it when people see a movie and say, “Oh, the book was better.”

Hello, of course the book was better, it’s a book. Books are a more complete story telling medium than movies because if you were going to put the entire twelve chapters of Watchmen into a movie it would be like six hours long and then no one would see it. Seriously, how annoyingly pompous is it to just say, oh, the book was better? I mean I guess people say this because they have not a single original thought in their head because really that line negates all duty to actually discuss anything on an intellectual level. I just find it endlessly annoying.

On a tangential line, I also have a theory that if you are able, you should not read a book before you see a movie. If you see a movie first, you will be able to appreciate both the movie and the book, but if you read the book first, you will almost never be able to appreciate the movie. This ruined One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest for me…I read the book first and hate the movie (which I know is a good movie).

Just a little issue I had to get off my chest.

Peace, Love, and Bullshit,
Julia

P.S. Loved Watchmen…those fanboys that hated it are crazy.

March 19, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. I enjoyed the movie’s ending more. I understand that it was a parody on the typical comic book villains, but I think the ending had to be changed; the original probably would have taken 30 mins to explain in the movie.

    Comment by Theo | March 31, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

